Reviews - The Horseshoe Inn

Staying in Argyll - Rating 5/5

What a stunning area.Many things to see and do. The Horseshoe was an excellent choice with quality food and well sized portions and host and hostess Ian and Roseann had great local knowledge to help my stay. Even made my dog welcome...!!

Reviewer:David J W | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 2 days ago


Very satisfied - Rating 5/5

Great room, warm behaviour, tasty food.

Reviewer:Eleutherios N | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Comfy stay - Rating 4/5

Good location (Kilmichael) for exploring area, and about 45 mins journey to the Kennacraig ferry to Islay.Good food, and fair value for money.All basic comforts.Stairs are steep.If driving through Lochgilphead south of Kilmichael, take time to have a walk along part of the Crinan Canal.

Reviewer:Frances C | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Comfy stay - Rating 4/5

Good location (Kilmichael) for exploring area, and about 45 mins journey to the Kennacraig ferry to Islay.Good food, and fair value for money.All basic comforts.Stairs are steep.If driving through Lochgilphead south of Kilmichael, take time to have a walk along part of the Crinan Canal.

Reviewer:Frances C | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Fantastic stay. Great food. Great couple that own and operate the hotel. Def be back. Breakfast was legendary.Thank you- Rating 5/5

Fantastic and thourghly recommended

Reviewer:Alexander W | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Wonderful Hotel - Rating 5/5

Ideal place for a good sleep if you visit this area. Nice dinner and breakfast. Hosts were helpful and provided maps for historic places around!

Reviewer:Vojtech K | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Will return - Rating 5/5

So accommodating, I Accidentally booked out of our previous hotel a day early, (been looking at property so my days were all messed up) and they were able to put us up in the stable. So warm and welcoming, the people are so nice we can’t wait to relocate. And the food was amazing..

Reviewer:Kimberly A | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Will return - Rating 5/5

So accommodating, I Accidentally booked out of our previous hotel a day early, (been looking at property so my days were all messed up) and they were able to put us up in the stable. So warm and welcoming, the people are so nice we can’t wait to relocate. And the food was amazing..

Reviewer:Kimberly A | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


what a wee gem - Rating 5/5

this was a definite marvellous find. We booked the ground floor studio called the stables. It was a cracking studio and had everything you would need for a self catering stay with pub next door. However we chose to eat at hotel and we were not disappointed. They were actually fully booked for the Friday night in restaurant but fitted us in. Home cooked fresh food that was delicious and portions were huge. Breakfast did not disappoint either. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Busy pub full of locals and tourists show what an excellent place it is. Will be back when I have shed the extra pounds from the great food.

Reviewer:William m | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Good bar food - Rating 4/5

After an energetic day the real ale and substantial bar food hit the spot.The breakfast was good also and set us up for another day outdoors.

Reviewer:Brian E | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


very good and quiet location - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay in a very good and quiet location for visiting the surrounding area. Comfy, friendly family run Inn with good food and excellent staff....and nice locals. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:G | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Very good and great value - Rating 5/5

Meals were very good and great value:proprietors most helpful and friendly, good spot for exploring area.

Reviewer:E | Tue 17th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Excellent value. Very friendly staff who let us off load cycle panniers early so we could explore local area unladen after long cycle ride and let us store our cycles in their out building Very quiet and comfortable room Gt shower Excellent pub food Lovely cycling locally on quiet roads to Crinan Highly recommend and would return if ever in this area again

Reviewer:A | Sun 8th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago