Reviews - The Horseshoe Inn

Comfortable stay, good food, ideal location - Rating 4/5

Welcoming hosts, simple but cozy bedroom and very comfortable bed. Very knowledgeable hosts regarding local places to visit too.Good varied dinner menu in the pub with decent prices and generous portions.

Reviewer:Siobhan B | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 days ago


Overnight stay at The Horseshoe Inn - Rating 3/5

We stayed just the one night - Room 1.Very comfortable and friendly place to stay.Good food and great breakfast especially the marmalade made by the lady next door!Definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Penny B | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Excellent weekend - Rating 5/5

Spent an excellent weekend at The Horseshoe Inn with daughter, husband and granddaughter. Roomsclean, well equipped and comfortable. All of us made to feel very welcome and well looked after.

Reviewer:Marion R | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Excellent- Rating 4/5

The Horseshoe was great for a 1 night stopover going North or South. Betty at the bar was great! Breakfast fine too. No problem.

Reviewer:John K | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

As we like the area and wanted to do a bit of sight seeing before travelling up to Oban. Spent one night and really enjoyed the evening meal and breakfast. Good value and run by a nice couple who are friendly and welcoming. The only downside was the shower water flow could have been stronger and we had trouble with the TV control but overall, enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying there or even stoping in for a meal.

Reviewer:Norman W | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Two night stay - Rating 4/5

I stayed at this inn for two nights July 2019 the food was great plenty of choice. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and quiet. Lots of choices for breakfastI would definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Gordon C | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Excellent dog friendly pub. - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from staying here in the self catering stable with our Springer. The stable is very clean &comfortable &if you wanted to cook there is an oven, hob &microwave.All the pots &pans were there for you.The bedroom is very comfortable &all linen, towels etc were included.We were welcomed by Ian on arrival who was very friendly &helpful.We had breakfast every morning in the pub, excellent selection &very tasty.We also had 2 evening meals, again there was plenty of choice &all very tasty.The bar lady Betty is also very friendly &helpful.We were made to feel very welcome &our dog was given treats by Ian &Betty every time we went into the pub, a truly dog friendly establishment.We wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Fiona P | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Clean and comfortable room - Rating 4/5

Pleasantly surprised. I’ve stayed in a few places locally and found this to be good value

Reviewer:Gareth W | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely place to stay ! - Rating 5/5

Very nice friendly place to stay, clean and good food!

Reviewer:Sally Y | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent overnight stop - Rating 5/5

Dogs welcome. Good food (generous portions) Friendly staff

Reviewer:Michael B | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Great stopover.- Rating 4/5

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in the attached self catering cottage plus 1 dog. We found the accommodation clean and tidy. The secure garden was perfect. We had a full day tour by car around the beautiful local scenery. Sampled the beer. Grand.

Reviewer:Steven B | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Nice Tripp near Kilmartin- Rating 4/5

Very nice and helpful staff.Good food - nice bar! Fair pricesAlways good tips for hiking and visiting opportunities.

Reviewer:Hans-Werner O | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


An enjoyable experiance - Rating 5/5

This was my second stay at the hotel and it was as good as the first time.The food for the evening meal and at breakfast was of very good quality and well prepared.The room was well equipped for an overnight stay and I would have no hesitation in booking again if I am travelling in the area.The staff were friendly and the bar has a good selection of beers.

Reviewer:David K | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Perfect stop-over - Rating 5/5

After a very long drive in the rain - the landlady was very welcoming to us and our Boxer dog. Small but wonderfully comfortable rooms and the meals we're fresh, home cooked and spot-on as well as being incredibly reasonable. Friendly, comfortable and welcoming - perfect!!

Reviewer:David B | Sun 16th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Wonderful little inn - Rating 4/5

Brilliant stay , warm welcome . Very helpful with knowledge of area.

Reviewer:Brenda B | Tue 28th May 2019 | 2 months ago


horse shoe inn - Rating 4/5

staff very friendly and unobtrusive. Excellent value for money. Shall return if in area.

Reviewer:vernon w | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 3 months ago


Horseshoe inn- Rating 5/5

After a long day travelling from Jura homeward bound to the Wirral we spent the night here .did the same last year .It is a small family run Inn and it’s fab.yummy home cooked food ,it really is tasty . Atmosphere is great ,room very comfy and the couple who own the Inn work so hard ,lovely friendly couple .

Reviewer:Jennifer D | Mon 20th May 2019 | 3 months ago


The most helpful hosts- Rating 5/5

Our hosts at the Horseshoe inn could not have been more helpful when we arrived late due to traffic, a great place to stay with our dog .

Reviewer:miranda c | Sat 18th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Stephen Shepherd- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and locals. Great food

Reviewer:Stephen S | Mon 6th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Golf Holiday Base - Rating 5/5

We used the Horseshoe Inn as our base for a golf trip playing on the Mull of Kintyre and Loch Lomond. The rooms were comfortable, the meals delicious, the real ale perfect and the hospitalityhighly welcoming. Strongly recommended.

Reviewer:Stephen B | Sun 5th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely Country Pub! - Rating 5/5

Ian was very helpful and attentive and tried in every way to make our stay as pleasant as possible!

Response

Thanks Fred

Reviewer:Fred P | Sat 4th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality , top class

Response

Thank You

Reviewer:Ricky C | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Horshoe inn - Rating 4/5

Nice clean and friendly. Very accommodating good menu and foodDefinitely stay again if in the area

Reviewer:Geoff O | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Great but brief stay - Rating 5/5

Just staying for quick and brief overnight pit stop but everything was very good

Reviewer:rory c | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Cosy friendly inn - Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight with my sister at Horseshoe inn.Cosy, friendly and clean.Landlord gave us lift to our car and gave us great info on local area.

Reviewer:Marie H | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Staying in Argyll - Rating 5/5

What a stunning area.Many things to see and do. The Horseshoe was an excellent choice with quality food and well sized portions and host and hostess Ian and Roseann had great local knowledge to help my stay. Even made my dog welcome...!!

Reviewer:David J W | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Very satisfied - Rating 5/5

Great room, warm behaviour, tasty food.

Reviewer:Eleutherios N | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Comfy stay - Rating 4/5

Good location (Kilmichael) for exploring area, and about 45 mins journey to the Kennacraig ferry to Islay.Good food, and fair value for money.All basic comforts.Stairs are steep.If driving through Lochgilphead south of Kilmichael, take time to have a walk along part of the Crinan Canal.

Reviewer:Frances C | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Comfy stay - Rating 4/5

Good location (Kilmichael) for exploring area, and about 45 mins journey to the Kennacraig ferry to Islay.Good food, and fair value for money.All basic comforts.Stairs are steep.If driving through Lochgilphead south of Kilmichael, take time to have a walk along part of the Crinan Canal.

Reviewer:Frances C | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Fantastic stay. Great food. Great couple that own and operate the hotel. Def be back. Breakfast was legendary.Thank you- Rating 5/5

Fantastic and thourghly recommended

Reviewer:Alexander W | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Wonderful Hotel - Rating 5/5

Ideal place for a good sleep if you visit this area. Nice dinner and breakfast. Hosts were helpful and provided maps for historic places around!

Reviewer:Vojtech K | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Will return - Rating 5/5

So accommodating, I Accidentally booked out of our previous hotel a day early, (been looking at property so my days were all messed up) and they were able to put us up in the stable. So warm and welcoming, the people are so nice we can’t wait to relocate. And the food was amazing..

Reviewer:Kimberly A | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Will return - Rating 5/5

So accommodating, I Accidentally booked out of our previous hotel a day early, (been looking at property so my days were all messed up) and they were able to put us up in the stable. So warm and welcoming, the people are so nice we can’t wait to relocate. And the food was amazing..

Reviewer:Kimberly A | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 12 months ago


what a wee gem - Rating 5/5

this was a definite marvellous find. We booked the ground floor studio called the stables. It was a cracking studio and had everything you would need for a self catering stay with pub next door. However we chose to eat at hotel and we were not disappointed. They were actually fully booked for the Friday night in restaurant but fitted us in. Home cooked fresh food that was delicious and portions were huge. Breakfast did not disappoint either. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Busy pub full of locals and tourists show what an excellent place it is. Will be back when I have shed the extra pounds from the great food.

Reviewer:William m | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Good bar food - Rating 4/5

After an energetic day the real ale and substantial bar food hit the spot.The breakfast was good also and set us up for another day outdoors.

Reviewer:Brian E | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


very good and quiet location - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay in a very good and quiet location for visiting the surrounding area. Comfy, friendly family run Inn with good food and excellent staff....and nice locals. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:G | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Very good and great value - Rating 5/5

Meals were very good and great value:proprietors most helpful and friendly, good spot for exploring area.

Reviewer:E | Tue 17th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Excellent value. Very friendly staff who let us off load cycle panniers early so we could explore local area unladen after long cycle ride and let us store our cycles in their out building Very quiet and comfortable room Gt shower Excellent pub food Lovely cycling locally on quiet roads to Crinan Highly recommend and would return if ever in this area again

Reviewer:A | Sun 8th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago